Adult Team End of Season Awards

The 2018/19 Chester Romans campaign officially finished on Saturday night as the adult team held the end of season awards ceremony at Hickory’s Smokehouse Chester.

With the first of three rookie recruitment days for the 2019/20 season on Sunday, Saturday night was the perfect time to celebrate the achievements of last year and look forward to the next campaign.

The highlight of the night was the unveiling of a new Hall of Fame plaque at Hickory’s, with the latest inductee being announced on the night. Long-term custodian of the club, Richard Colin was deservedly handed the prestigious honour.

Adult team General Manager, Geraint Griffiths, was given the Ray Smith Clubman of the Year award thanks to his extensive work off the field.

University of Chester Legion duo Mikey Thompson and Matt Macaulay picked up the Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year gongs respectively whilst Tom Peto was voted the Players’ Player of the Year.

There was also a special award of a signed Chester Romans football for long-time General Manager of Hickory’s Chester, Andy Beedle, whose support of the club has been instrumental in our success over the years.

Full list of winners –

Special Awards – Nathan James Sharrocks, Tracie Cooper-Probyn, Chris Cotton, Andy Beedle and Simon Mawson

Ray Smith Clubman of the Year Award – Geraint Griffiths

Hall of Fame Inductee – Richard Colin

Offensive Rookie of the Year – Toby McManus

Defensive Rookie of the Year – Liam Shone

Offensive Player of the Year – Mike Thompson

Defensive Player of the Year – Matt Macaulay

Big Team, Little Me Award (handed to the player with the best team ethic) – Harry Maltby

GATA Award (handed to the player always striving to get better any way they can) – Arron Powell

Players’ Player of the Year – Tom Peto

Leave a Comment